A Voyage into the Cell

At the Department of Molecular Mechanisms of Disease (DMMD), University of Zurich, we combine cellular and molecular biology with biochemistry to better understand the way different cellular functions affect the development of diseases and their therapy.

At the Department of Molecular Mechanisms of Disease (DMMD) cellular and molecular biologists work together to develop various ways of illuminating and understanding the structures and processes that exist inside cells. We work hard to better understand the cell, the smallest subunit of our bodies. If something goes wrong in our cells, the whole body suffers. Numerous diseases are the result of the molecular processes inside our cells somehow being disturbed. Malfunctions that occur at the level of our DNA, our genes, and their regulation can have particularly serious consequences. For example, the cellular metabolism can be disturbed to such an extent so that it develops into diabetes. Mutations in the genetic material can make it easier for cancer to develop. A deregulated response on the part of the immune cells can lead to chronic inflammation. And if gene regulation isn't working properly, some cells may not even remember what their job is inside the body. Because cells are so small (one cell is about 100 times smaller than a pinhead), biologists need microscopes in order to look at them. Or they use other, sometimes quite complicated, imaging procedures to look inside the cells and watch the molecular mechanisms at work. These procedures are carried out in a research laboratory, they often take several days, and they're based on a very precise sequence involving numerous steps. If the experiment works, we know a little more about the cell. Based on the new findings, we can then make plans for subsequent experiments. We've yet to run out of new questions.


Precursor cells can be differentiated in the laboratory into muscle cells, which then contract. Video taken by Lavina Bisceglie, research group Hottiger
Live cell microscopy and single-cell tracking can be used to study the dynamics of cellular stress responses. The multi-day time-lapse recordings were overseen by Sinan Kilic, research group Altmeyer
Through what's called immunostaining, the cell nucleus and mitochondria, which are the cellular powerhouses, can be rendered visible. Image taken by Ann-Katrin Hopp, research group Hottiger. Through what's called immunostaining, the cell nucleus and mitochondria, which are the cellular powerhouses, can be rendered visible. Image taken by Ann-Katrin Hopp, research group Hottiger.
Cellular assemblies are the basis for organ formation. Sometimes interesting shapes are produced, such as this heart-shaped collection of prostate cells. Cellular assemblies are the basis for organ formation. Sometimes interesting shapes are produced, such as this heart-shaped collection of prostate cells.
Genome-wide measurements of epigenetic modifications and computer-assisted analyses allow us to better understand how, specifically, genes are switched on and off. Measurements and analysis by Christina Ambrosi, research group Baubec. Genome-wide measurements of epigenetic modifications and computer-assisted analyses allow us to better understand how, specifically, genes are switched on and off. Measurements and analysis by Christina Ambrosi, research group Baubec.
Adipocytes (fat cells) are grown in culture, where intracellular lipid deposits are seen as “bubbles”. Key metabolites (AcetylCoA) and enzymes (ACLY) are visualized in red and green respectively. Images taken by Zyanya Díaz and Tian Gao, research group Verdeguer. Adipocytes (fat cells) are grown in culture, where intracellular lipid deposits are seen as “bubbles”. Key metabolites (AcetylCoA) and enzymes (ACLY) are visualized in red and green respectively. Images taken by Zyanya Díaz and Tian Gao, research group Verdeguer.
Cells extracted from a sheep’s nucleus pulposus tissue in a cervical intervertebral disc were expanded in culture and seeded on a polyethylene terephthalate scaffold. The fibers are shown above as well as the cell actin cytoskeleton in red and the cell nuclei in blue. The aim of this project is to tissue engineer intervertebral disc components and to implant these constructs for intervertebral disc replacement. Images taken by Salim Darwiche and Andrea Laimbacher, MSRU Cells extracted from a sheep’s nucleus pulposus tissue in a cervical intervertebral disc were expanded in culture and seeded on a polyethylene terephthalate scaffold. The fibers are shown above as well as the cell actin cytoskeleton in red and the cell nuclei in blue. The aim of this project is to tissue engineer intervertebral disc components and to implant these constructs for intervertebral disc replacement. Images taken by Salim Darwiche and Andrea Laimbacher, MSRU



Related contributions

Eine Reise ins Innere der Zelle

Am Institut für Molekulare Mechanismen bei Krankheiten der Universität Zürich kombinieren wir Zell- und Molekularbiologie mit Biochemie, um besser verstehen zu können, welche Bedeutung verschiedene Zellfunktionen für die Entstehung von Krankheiten und für deren Therapie haben.

Am Institut für Molekulare Mechanismen bei Krankheiten entwickeln Zell- und Molekularbiologen zusammen viele verschiedene Wege, um Strukturen und die ablaufenden Prozesse im Inneren der Zelle zu beleuchten und zu verstehen. Wir arbeiten konzentriert daran, die Zelle als kleinste Untereinheit unseres Körpers besser zu verstehen. Geht es unseren Zellen schlecht, leidet der ganze Körper. Viele Krankheiten entstehen erst dadurch, dass die molekularen Abläufe in unseren Zellen gestört sind. Insbesondere auf der Ebene der DNA, der Gene und ihrer Regulation können Fehlfunktionen schwerwiegende Folgen für die Zellen haben. Der Zellstoffwechsel kann beispielsweise so gestört werden, dass es zu Diabetes (Blutzuckerkrankheit) kommt. Mutationen in der Erbsubstanz können die Entstehung von Krebs begünstigen. Eine deregulierte Antwort von Immunzellen kann zu einer chronischen Entzündung führen. Und wenn die Genregulation nicht richtig funktioniert, wissen manche Zellen nicht einmal mehr, welche Aufgabe sie im Körper eigentlich haben. Da Zellen sehr klein sind (eine Zelle ist etwa 100 Mal kleiner als ein Stecknadelkopf), brauchen die Biologen Mikroskope, um sie zu sehen. Oder sie verwenden andere, zum Teil recht komplizierte bildgebende Verfahren, um ins Innere der Zellen zu blicken und den molekularen Mechanismen bei der Arbeit zuzuschauen. Diese Verfahren werden im Forschungslabor durchgeführt, dauern oft mehrere Tage und basieren auf einer sehr präzisen Abfolge vieler verschiedener Arbeitsschritte. Falls der Versuch geklappt hat, wissen wir am Ende ein kleines bisschen besser über die Zelle Bescheid. Basierend auf den neuen Erkenntnissen planen wir danach schon den nächsten Versuch. Das Fragen hört nämlich nie auf.


Vorläuferzellen können im Labor zu Muskelzellen differenziert werden, die kontrahieren. Aufgenommen von Lavina Bisceglie, Arbeitsgruppe Hottiger
Durch Live-Cell-Microscopy und Single-Cell-Tracking kann die Dynamik zellulärer Stressreaktionen untersucht werden. Die mehrtägigen Time-Lapse-Aufnahmen wurden durchgeführt von Sinan Kilic, Arbeitsgruppe Altmeyer.
Durch eine so genannte Immunfärbung können Zellkern und Mitochondrien, die Kraftwerke der Zelle, sichtbar gemacht werden. Aufgenommen von Ann-Katrin Hopp, Arbeitsgruppe Hottiger. Durch eine so genannte Immunfärbung können Zellkern und Mitochondrien, die Kraftwerke der Zelle, sichtbar gemacht werden. Aufgenommen von Ann-Katrin Hopp, Arbeitsgruppe Hottiger.
Zellzusammenschlüsse bilden die Grundlage für die Organentstehung. Manchmal bilden sich dabei interessante Formen aus, wie hier diese herzförmige Ansammlung von Prostatazellen. Zellzusammenschlüsse bilden die Grundlage für die Organentstehung. Manchmal bilden sich dabei interessante Formen aus, wie hier diese herzförmige Ansammlung von Prostatazellen.
Genomweite Messungen von epigenetischen Modifikationen und computergestützte Analysen erlauben uns besser zu verstehen wie Gene spezifisch ein- und ausgeschaltet werden. Messungen und Analyse von Christina Ambrosi, Arbeitsgruppe Baubec. Genomweite Messungen von epigenetischen Modifikationen und computergestützte Analysen erlauben uns besser zu verstehen wie Gene spezifisch ein- und ausgeschaltet werden. Messungen und Analyse von Christina Ambrosi, Arbeitsgruppe Baubec.
Fettzellen (Adipozyten) können im Labor zu Forschungszwecken kultiviert werden. Intrazelluläre Fettdepots erscheinen dabei als Bläschen. Wichtige Stoffwechselprodukte und Enzyme können mittels Immunfärbung visualisiert werden (AcetylCoA in rot, ACLY in grün). Aufgenommen von Zyanya Díaz und Tian Gao, Arbeitsgruppe Verdeguer. Fettzellen (Adipozyten) können im Labor zu Forschungszwecken kultiviert werden. Intrazelluläre Fettdepots erscheinen dabei als Bläschen. Wichtige Stoffwechselprodukte und Enzyme können mittels Immunfärbung visualisiert werden (AcetylCoA in rot, ACLY in grün). Aufgenommen von Zyanya Díaz und Tian Gao, Arbeitsgruppe Verdeguer.
In der MSRU werden mittels Tissue Engineering künstliche Gewebe entwickelt, die der Gewebetransplantation dienen sollen. Dargestellt sind Zellen, die aus einer Bandscheibe eines Schafes gewonnen wurden, und auf einer künstlichen Trägersubstanz im Labor wachsen. Bilder von Salim Darwiche und Andrea Laimbacher, MSRU. In der MSRU werden mittels Tissue Engineering künstliche Gewebe entwickelt, die der Gewebetransplantation dienen sollen. Dargestellt sind Zellen, die aus einer Bandscheibe eines Schafes gewonnen wurden, und auf einer künstlichen Trägersubstanz im Labor wachsen. Bilder von Salim Darwiche und Andrea Laimbacher, MSRU.



Weiterfuehrende Beiträge